Me Oh My! I Love Pie.

8 Jul

Black and Blue Berry Butterfly Pie

Pop quiz.  What movie is the “Me oh my, I love pie” song from?  Here’s a hint, it’s crappy, stars post-Grease/pre-Pulp Fiction John Travolta (hence, the crappiness), also features the world’s biggest ball of twine.   If you guessed “Michael”, you are correct.  You should also march straight over to Travolta’s house and demand two hours of your life back.

For guessing correctly, I reward you with a recipe for what I’m now calling the Black and Blue Berry Butterfly Pie.  If you’re one of the lame-Os who didn’t get it right, why don’t you celebrate not spending $8 bucks to see that tripe by having a slice of pie.

Now it’s time for a French lesson.  Pate Brisee translates to “short pastry.”  It’s a very rich, flaky pie dough that can be used in sweet and savory dishes by adding or deleting sugar.  As with any pie crust the most important things to remember about preparing this are to work with cold fats/ice water and to refrain from overworking the flour to avoid the development of gluten.  Failing to mind the temperature or beating the dough into submission will result in a tough and decidedly unpleasant pie crust.

Pate Brisee

I know this is, like, my third fruit pie/cobbler related post in a row but I’ve become a berry hoarder and I don’t know what else to do with them.  I’m going to end up featured on one of those shows on A&E but instead of pulling cat carcasses out from under the rubble, they’re going to find half-eaten berry pies under 15 layers of empty 2 liter diet coke bottles, my ceramic elephant collection,  and thousands of “vintage” (circa 2007) Bon Appetit magazines that I swear I’m going to sell one day on Ebay.  But the berries are so very purdy, I can’t resist.

pretty berries

Black and Blue Berry Butterfly Pie

Adapted slightly from marthastewart.com

Pate Brisee

1 1/2 c. AP Flour

1 c. whole wheat pastry flour

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. sugar

1/2 c. cold butter cut into small cubes

1/4 – 1/2 c. ice cold water (I used 1/2 c. – I think whole wheat flour sucks up more water than AP flour)

Add dry ingredients together into a food processor.  Pulse to blend.  Cut in butter and pulse blender until mixture is crumbly.  Do not over blend.  The food processor will melt the butter and overwork the gluten.  Add water and blend gently until just combined.  Quickly knead into a round flat disc.  One disc, not two as suggested in the marthastewart.com recipe.   You will not be able to create the folded crust if you divide the dough.  Refrigerate the dough for at least 1/2 hour.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Filling

2 pints blackberries

1 1/2 pints blueberries

1/2 c. sugar

5 Tbs. cornstarch

2 Tbs. fresh lemon juice

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.

Prepare

2 Tbs. heavy cream

1 egg yolk

Wisk together

Roll out dough to a circle about twice the diameter of your baking dish.  Fold in half, then in half again and transfer to the dish placing the pointed end at the center of the dish.  Unfold so the dough is over hanging the sides of the dish.  Gently push down the middle of the dough so it fills the dish.  Add the berry filling.  Pull up the sides of the dough and overlap it in multiple locations to create a circle in the middle of the pie.  (This won’t work if you divide your dough into two discs prior to refrigerating it – I know from experience.  I ended up with a diamond shape in the middle of my pie).   I added little decorations to try to distract from my pathetic outer crust.  You can probably reserve about 1/4 of the dough if you want to use it for decorations.  I believe 3/4 of the dough recipe should be plenty to create the fold-over pie crust.  Brush dough with cream/yolk mixture.  Sprinkle with sanding sugar or turbinado sugar if desired.

Bake

Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake  for another 30-35 minutes.  If your crust begins to brown too much, cover loosely with foil.

Leave a Reply

