Foods of Unnatural Colors

2 Apr

trix treat

Sorry for the hiatus.  An unexpected medical issue has taken up my mental energy the last few weeks.  But enough of that nonsense.  It’s Easter time!  Nothing says Easter like food coloring and refined sugar.  While I generally attempt to avoid all that stuff as much as possible, an Easter without ’em would be just plain un-American.  For anybody over the age of about 12, these are disgusting.  Actually, I’m lying.  I totally dig Rice Krispie treats.  The trix treats on the other hand, are vile.  My kids LOVED them.  Paying homage to his bachelor days, my husband bought a box of the Trix Swirls a few weeks back.  I was transfixed by all the pretty colors and decided I had to use them for something.  I also had this idea for multi-colored Rice Krispie treats that I’ve been meaning to give a shot.

Trix Treats

Melt 1 bag of marshmallows with 3 Tbs. of butter in the microwave for about 1 1/2 minutes.   When melted completely, add 6 cups of Trix.  Stir and press into a prepared 8×8 pan.

Rice Krispie Treats

Take 2 bags of marshmallows and separate into 4 microwave safe bowls.  Add 1 1/2 Tbs. of butter into each bowl.  Microwave one bowl at a time until melted.  Add food coloring of your choice and stir well.  Then add 3 cups of Rice Krispies to each bowl and stir.  Spray a 9 x 13 pan with Pam.   Also spray down a spatula with Pam.  Press each layer into the pan using the greased up spatula.  It is very difficult to get the layers to be completely even around the outsides so I just made sure the middle was nice and even and then cut off the outsides.  It wasn’t hard to find people to eat the scraps.

So there you have it!  Diabetes inducing treats for the holiday.

eastery rice krispie treats

I’ve also embarked on a new suburban homesteading adventure.  More on that to come.  Pippi, our new Rhode Island Red chick, helped me with this post.  Happy Easter everyone!

rhode island red

Leave a Reply

