Tuna Noodle Casserole with Leeks and Fresh Dill

25 Feb

tuna noodle casserole

I needed a relatively easy dish to make for dinner tonight since we had baseball practice to go to.  I found this bad boy also in the March Issue of Bon Appetit.

The family gave it 3 out of 5 stars but that’s just because our ranking system works like this:  one star awarded for each member of the family willing to eat it.  The microscopic flecks of green ruled out the possibility that Brody (age 6) would bring it within a foot of his mouth.  Hadley (age 1) was asleep so I guess she didn’t really get a chance to vote.

I’ve never made tuna noodle casserole before.  Frankly, it never sounded that appetizing.  This recipe was a definite upgrade from the congealed canned soup versions of yesteryear.   All in all, I would say it’s a solid midweek, family friendly option.   I actually doubled the recipe since there were two growing boys eating it.  One upward (Tyson, age 10) and one outward (Javier, age 29 -  just kidding sweetie!).  We ended up with lots of leftovers so I may not have needed to after all.  I made one half of it with Provolone rather than Gruyere because I married a man who doesn’t like stinky cheese.  Crazy.  It’s all Cojack all the time with that guy – boooring.  The Provolone version seemed to please the boys so it’s a good option if you have picky eaters.  Also, I used about half the amount of cheese called for.  I figured with all the butter and milk/half and half, it wasn’t suffering for any fat or flavor.  It tasted just fine that way and I’ve never been afraid to cut down the amount of what I term “overkill ingredients”.   In the future I’ll probably play around with whole wheat pasta as well.  It kills me to use white pasta anymore.

leeks soaking

gruyere cheesetuna noodle casserole raw

2 Responses to “Tuna Noodle Casserole with Leeks and Fresh Dill”

  1. banana_mom March 7, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Sounds like you need a divorce, just kidding. The casserole sounds yummy! I wonder if my kids would actually try it.

    • froufy March 7, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

      LOL. I KNOW! He doesn’t like stinky cheese or “yolk eggs”. I don’t know what I’m going to do with him. Yeesh. My 10 year old loved this stuff. The 6 year thinks anything green is “salad” and, therefore, unfit for human consumption.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

